I Ain’t Saying She A Gold Digger

After what has seemed like a million and five years, Jim and I finally had a weekend off together since starting my new job. On Saturday we went to our friend’s wedding which was located on a beautiful local farm near the ferry terminal. With a beer in hand I made friends with a little girl who lived there, and she kindly gave us a tour of the chicken house and let us help pick eggs (she gets her allowance based on how many eggs she picks). This drove me into further chicken envy and Jim had to convince me that a) stealing someone else’s chickens is wrong and b) where are we even going to hide it (blah – logical Jim strikes again). The wedding was beautiful and pretty magical. After 56 days of no rain, we finally got a bit of a pour in the evening. There is nothing quite like rain after a long, hot summer.

On Sunday, Jim protested from the sheets but I forced him to get up early with me so we could get to the community garden. We have been taking turns weeding and watering based on our own personal free time, but it’s been awhile since we could enjoy the space together. It was finally time to start harvesting the rest of our Spring crops. After months of playing Stardew Valley, I was convinced that I was an expert gardener and our yields would be nothing but bountiful. Of course this wasn’t the case.

The potato box, despite being full of large, leafy greens was subjected to too much nitrogen in the soil and we didn’t get as many as we had hoped. The rainbow carrots varied in size, but most of them were fairly small and hardly any purple ones sprouted (I was beyond excited to eat purple carrots). I had high hopes for my beets, but they experienced the same fate as the potatoes. Too much nitrogen. So we were left with lots of lovely beet greens, but hardly any beets. However, I am not despaired! Despite basically everything not turning out the way I had hoped, we do have enough for a few dinners and I realized that there is nothing more self-satisfying than pulling your own food out of the ground. I am officially a garden snob.

I learnt a lot about what not to do most importantly, and I imagine not everyone gets lucky the first time they plant their own garden (I thought Jim was an expert to be fair, but apparently he’s just human like the rest of us). Since our first frost date isn’t for a few months, I am going to try to get in some more carrots and beets, but I’m going to plant them differently to see if any major changes happen. I’ve been reading a lot on square planting and companion planting, so my hopes are that we will see a difference in the size of both items and perhaps an actual vegetable (beets you’re the worst). I also have hope for the rest of the plants in the garden that which are not quite ready to be picked yet (we still have tomatoes, pumpkins, shelling peas, zucchini, patty pans – which are producing every other day, a second set of radishes which I planted a few weeks ago, broccoli, cucumbers, brussel sprouts and kale).

 

Leave a Reply

